A fancy lunch in New York City!

Hello to anyone who still reads this!

I GRADUATED!  This means more time for fun things, including blogging!  I have tons of old food pics that I would love to post, but let’s start with something that happened recently.

As soon as I finished my bar exams, I took off to NYC with a few friends.  It was my first time in the city, and I fell in love with it.  There are so many things to do, and so many things to see.  I cannot wait to go back.  Highlights included Broadway shows, meeting Jim Parsons (my heart almost exploded with happiness,) and lunch at a restaurant called Jean Georges.

Jean Georges is a Michelin Star restaurant (3 stars,) and it’s located in the Trump Tower at Lincoln Square.  My sister recommended the place to me, and it was undoubtedly the best lunch (and most expensive) I’ve ever had.

First off, make a reservation if you intend to eat here.  I almost couldn’t get one, but you can  make a reservation online through their website.  There is a prix fixe menu for lunch, and you get two courses for $49, and this includes an appetizer platter and dessert.   I splurged and ordered a dessert off the menu and a cocktail.  It was well worth it, and I have never felt more spoiled.  The service is superb; I just had to look up and a waiter would be right at my table.  It is a fancier restaurant, so the dress code is business casual for lunch.  It’s also a good place to go to by yourself; I quite enjoyed reading my magazine while dining.  The only downside to eating alone is you can’t order more food to share!  I seriously contemplated doing the 6-course tasting menu ($128), but I think I’ll do that next time, and I’ll make sure to skip breakfast when I attempt that one.

My raspberry-lychee sparkling wine cocktail.  So delicious!

Appetizers: some sort of sashimi, housemade mozza with strawberry, and watercress sorbet.

First course: tuna ribbon salad with avocado and a spicy ginger dressing.

Roast suckling pig with a pea puree and an onion and bacon marmalade.  This was so tender and tasty!

Dessert platter: balsamic meringue and vanilla sponge cake, roasted strawberries, strawberry sorbet on an almond crumble, and cream.

More dessert: homemade marshmallows, strawberry coconut macaroons, and chocolates!

I cannot wait to return to NYC and eat another fancy meal here!

EM

Posted on July 16, 2012, in Eating Out, Travelling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congrats on finishing school! Mmmm…my kind of meal, when desserts outweigh the main course. The raspberry lychee cocktail looked good too! Welcome back to blogging, can’t wait to read more posts 😀

Leave a Reply

