I’m back, with banana bread…

I just finished my one and only exam today!  Unfortunately, I still have some papers to finish, but I’m not going to worry about that just yet.  I went back into the kitchen and cooked and baked up a storm.  I made some banana bread as a treat for myself for finishing off the semester, and also to keep a couple of friends sane over the next few days while they study for their next exam.

I’ve been making banana bread for several years, and it’s my mom’s recipe.  She has been making it for as long as I can remember, and it’s one of my favourite things to bake.  Just make sure your bananas are actually ready to be used for baking; I once got very impatient and used bananas that were not quite ripe yet, and the bread did not taste good.  Your bananas should be quite brown and soft, almost on the verge of rotting.   This will ensure your bread is moist and sweet.

Banana Bread 

  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup shortening (I use Crisco vegetable shortening)
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup mashed bananas (3-4 medium-sized bananas)
  • 1/2 cup walnuts (optional, but I add them when I have them around.  I think it’s tastier with them.)

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and set aside.

In a separate bowl, place shortening and sugar together, and work with a spoon until soft.  Add 2 eggs and beat.  Add flour mixture and mix.  Add bananas and walnuts, if using.

Bake in a loaf pan for about 45 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

I would recommend greasing the pan.  It’s not necessary, but it just makes clean up easier.

Hope everyone is surviving exams!  Good luck for those who are still writing exams or papers!

EM

Posted on December 9, 2011, in Baking, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yum. Congrats on the end of exam… what better way to celebrate than with banana bread – it’s so much fun.

  2. Congrats on completing your exams. I hope you did well. This bread looks amazing! Great job.

  3. Thank you! I’m just glad it’s over and I’m looking forward to holiday eating and cooking and baking! 🙂

  4. HI EM:
    I search out a banana bread recipe that matched my mom’s and found your mom’s. Do you know where she got it from? juct curious. Not sure with all the variants out there why this one seems consistently better but I have been baking it for many years. Thanks for posting.

    russll

Leave a Reply

