Asian comfort food and a student’s way of survival

Time to blog about something I love to eat-instant noodles.  I know it’s not healthy and that it’s junk food, but I can’t help it.  It’s comfort food to me, not to mention a quick and easy meal when I don’t have time to cook.  I’m a student, cut me some slack.

The thing I love about instant noodles is the sheer variety that’s available.  Japanese, Chinese, Korean noodles; spicy, not spicy; beef, shrimp, chicken.  It’s all very yummy.  Just don’t look at the nutritional content.

When I make instant noodles, I try to make it a better meal by adding extras to it.  Generally, I’ll throw in some veggies and an egg.  Sometimes, I’ll throw in a hot dog if I have it on hand (this is a very Hong Kong cafe-style way of eating instant noodles.)  Of course, you can add in whatever you like, but I favour lots of veggies and an egg.  But you have to be careful if you’re going to use an egg-it can end up breaking in the pot and then you just have egg pieces floating around, and that is not as tasty.  I’m telling you, cooking instant noodles is an art form.

I start by putting the flavour and oil packets in the water.  Bring the water to a boil.  Toss the noodles in.  Let the noodles soften for a bit, but don’t pull them apart.  Let it stay in a square form.  Carefully crack an egg on top of the noodles.  This way the egg will cook on top of the noodles.  Sometimes it’ll slip off the noodles, but if you haven’t broken the yolk, the egg should cook properly in one piece (which is what I aim for.)  I let the egg cook for a few minutes and then toss in my veggies.  You can cook the noodles as long as you like; this just depends on how soft you like them.  Also think about how well done you like the egg.  I always add a bit of hot sauce to my noodles too!

One of my favourite brands and flavour of instant noodles: beef!

Cooking away.

My meal.

Enjoy!

EM

Posted on October 24, 2011, in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

