Zucchini Fritters

Wow, it’s already Thanksgiving weekend!  I will be blogging less for several reasons:

1.  School is getting heavy and I have a bunch of papers to write.  Boo on writing.

2.  I’m making an effort to have some semblance of a social life, so I actually have fun things to do in October, including attending the symphony and going to a fancy breakfast (and I will be blogging about that.)

3.  I’m currently testing a video game for a friend, and I’m currently addicted to it.

In spite of all that, I will still try to blog now and then.  Mostly during class time…multi-tasking, you know…

Anyway, I mentioned in my past post that I bought a giant zucchini at the market.  It was great, it only cost me a dollar!  The problem was, even after I used about half of it for veggie packets for a dinner party, I still had some left.    I needed to use it up and my sister M suggested that I use it to make zucchini fritters.  Great idea: anything battered and fried is bound to taste good.

I Googled a recipe and modified it, and ended up with something like this:

Zucchini Fritters

  • 1 lb zucchini, grated
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 egg
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • grated parmesan cheese

After you grate the zucchini, toss it with a bit of salt (a teaspoon should suffice) and let it sit in a bowl.  Squeeze out as much water as you can (I recommend using a cloth for this.)  You’d be surprised how much water there is.  Mix in the rest of the ingredients to form a batter-the cheese, salt and pepper are to your taste.  I suggest using less salt because the cheese is salty.  You can always add more at the end once you’re done frying them if you find that there is not enough flavour.

Heat a bit of oil in a frying pan and, working in batches, fry up your fritters!  I used medium high heat and fried each side for maybe 3 minutes each.  Drain them on paper towels.  I think next time I would add some green onion or chives to it.  Also, I would use more zucchini-I didn’t have one pound, so my fritters were more pancake like.  Tasted fine though!  I had my fritters with a bit of plain yogurt.  You could also dip them in sour cream.

 
 

EM

Posted on October 6, 2011, in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. yummyyy I thought you video gamed during class haahaa just kidding. I will try this recipe for sure seems fun.

Leave a Reply

