One last post…

before I take off to Hong Kong!

You probably noticed I really loved Cafe Du Monde (and believe me, if there was something like that where I live, I would be there EVERY DAY).  The beignets were so good!  I mentioned I bought some beignet mix and coffee; I also bought a postcard with a beignet recipe on it.  Thought I’d share it.

Beignets-makes 24-36 

  • 1 envelope active dry yeast
  • 1 1/2 cups warm water
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup evaporated milk
  • 6 1/2-7 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup shortening, softened
  • oil for deep frying
  • powdered sugar

In a large bowl, sprinkle yeast over the warm water; stir to dissolve and let stand 5-10 minutes.   Add sugar, salt, eggs, milk.  Mix well and add 4 cups of flour and beat until smooth.Add shortening and blend in remaining flour.  Cover and chill 4 hours or overnight.  Roll out onto floured surface to 1/4 to 1/2 inch thickness.  Cut into 3 inch squares.  Heat up oil and deep fry a few at a time until lightly browned on both sides.   Drain on paper towels and sprinkle with powdered sugar.  Serve immediately.

If anyone tries this, let me know.  I’ll be testing it out later in the summer.

Also, I have this little toy dragon, Icarus, that I am now carrying around on my travels to take pics with.  Here he is at Cafe Du Monde.

Alright, that’s it for now!  Will be blogging in Hong Kong next time!

EM

Posted on May 3, 2011, in Recipes, Travelling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

