NOLA, Day 2, Part 2

After the nap, the sister, who I will now refer to as M, and I were ready to eat again.  We went to another restaurant owned by Chef John Besh, called Luke, for happy hour-half price drinks and 50 cent oysters!

I got a cocktail of peach puree and champagne and we split some oysters.  I’m actually not a huge fan of raw oysters-I had some, but they are not really my thing.  Maybe I’ll acquire a taste for them if I have them more often.

After the oysters, we headed out for a real dinner.  We hopped over to Felix for some more food.  I grabbed an order of grilled oysters, a shrimp and oyster po’ boy, and M got an order of jambalaya.  I LOVED the grilled oysters, they were done just right.  The po’ boy was also amazing-much better than the one M had grabbed the day before.  The jambalaya was also very good, but I think I prefer beans and rice out of the traditional Creole food.  The jambalaya wasn’t finished cause we were so full from everything else, so we packed it to go.  Sadly, we both forgot about it and didn’t notice it till later, so the food was left at the restaurant.  Boo.

Here’s a pic of the (eaten) oysters, which we promptly ate up when they arrived at the table:

After dinner we wandered down a couple of streets for a bit to walk off dinner, checked out a used bookstore, where I picked up a cookbook, and then wandered back to the hotel to grab the tripod for some night shooting.  We went around the French Quarters, took some night shots, and ended up at Cafe Du Monde so I could get another order of cafe au lait (decaf at that hour) and more beignets!  What a great way to end another day in NOLA!

I have to say, this day was FANTASTIC.  Every single place we ate at we were amazed at the quality of food.  We also got great deals on the prix fixe lunch and the happy hour oysters.  All in all, not too shabby!

EM

Posted on April 28, 2011, in Travelling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

