NOLA, Day 2

I’m sitting in the airport waiting for my flight back as I write this post.  These last few days have been a blast with my sister, and it’s been a good vacation of relaxing, eating, shopping, and sleeping.  Plus I got to improve my photography skills as my sister is DEFINITELY a pro, and she taught me a few things.  Much fun. 😀

On our second day here, we started off the day with breakfast at Cafe Du Monde.  It’s a coffee stand by the river that is open 24 hours a day.  And I can see why, it gets pretty busy in there.  It was established in 1862 and is a traditional coffee shop.  Their menu is pretty short, and they are known for their coffee and beignets.  Beignets (and I still can’t figure out how to pronounce it) are fried fritters, and they are served with powdered sugar.  The are delicious, as was the cafe au lait.

After breakfast, we wandered around, did some shopping (SALES AT BANANA REPUBLIC!) and then promptly got caught by a storm just when we were about to head for lunch.  We stayed at the mall to wait it out (it POURED) but luckily it only lasted about 15 minutes.

We headed out to a restaurant called August, which is owned by Chef John Besh.  He owns a bunch of restaurants around NOLA, and we ended up hitting a few of them.  We got a prix fixe lunch; unfortunately, the menu is not online, so I’m going to do this from memory and my pics.  It was a fabulous deal, since it was only $21 for a three course meal.

The restaurant started us off with some sort of appetizer.  I can’t remember what this is called, but it was a seafood egg custard with truffle oil and caviar.

My sister started with a beet salad, and I started with a pork pate.

For our entrees, the sis had salted cod ravioli, and I had pan-fried sheepshead (which is a fish, not an actual sheep’s head).  Both were DELICIOUS.  The fish was done just right.

For dessert, she got a peanut butter chocolate dessert with popcorn flavoured ice cream (we both really liked that) and I got a ricotta cheese custard.  It came with candied lemons and I think it was pecan bits underneath.  Loved the candied lemons the most.

At the end of the meal, they brought us dark chocolate truffles!  At that point, I was sick of taking photos, so I just ate my truffle.  I assure you it was tasty and looked pretty.  All in all, a fabulous meal for a fabulous price.  After lunch we were ready to go for a nap, so we headed back to the hotel to drop off our purchases and I passed out for a bit.

EM

Posted on April 27, 2011, in Travelling. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. the food looks so fancy and looks pretty good too!

Leave a Reply

