Happy New Year!!!

Happy New Year!!! I hope everyone had a fun holiday filled with food, family, and friends-mine sure was!  I feasted for almost 14 days straight, and I enjoyed every last bite.

It’s that time of year: new year, new start, new resolutions.  My resolutions include trying to blog more often and strive to write better blog posts, improve my food photography skills, and continue to improve my cooking/baking skills.

To start off a new year of food blogging, I want to share something I clipped out of a school newsletter back when I was still in elementary school.  I keep it posted by my desk, as I believe they are wise words to live by.

Food for Thought: “For the Garden of Your Daily Living”

Plant three rows of peas:

  1. Peace of mind
  2. Peace of heart
  3. Peace of soul

Plant four rows of squash:

  1. Squash gossip
  2. Squash indifference
  3. Squash grumbling
  4. Squash selfishness

Plant four rows of lettuce:

  1. Lettuce be faithful
  2. Lettuce be kind
  3. Lettuce be patient
  4. Lettuce really love one another

No garden without turnips:

  1. Turnip for meetings
  2. Turnip for service
  3. Turnip to help one another

To conclude our garden, we must have thyme:

  1. Thyme for each other
  2. Thyme for family
  3. Thyme for friends

Water freely with patience.  Cultivate with love.

There is much fruit in your garden because you reap what you sow.

 

I wish everyone a happy and healthy new year, filled with food, fun, and friends.  Because that’s what makes life worth living.

EM

Posted on January 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

