A weekend of cooking, eating, and homework

The amount of homework I have to work through right now is alarming-which accounts for the recent lack of blogging.  Last weekend, I decided to to catch up and also actively try to do some cooking and baking and then blog about it.  After all, the amount of time I waste on less productive things could easily be spent on something way more enjoyable-making food and then promptly devouring it, especially with friends.  Plus, this makes homework more bearable.  So what was on the menu?  Guacamole, refried bean dip, homemade pita chips, lasagna spirals, and cornbread.  And yes, I actually did accomplish work as well, so that alarming pile is slowly, but surely, shrinking (so long as I don’t lose momentum).

Let’s go through all the snacks in this post, and I’ll post about the lasagna spirals some other time.

The recipe I use for cornbread can be found here.

To make pita chips, simply take a package of pitas (use the thinnest ones you can find, it works better), rip them up into chip size, and bake in a single layer at 350 F for a minute or two until they are all dried out and of chip consistency.  So easy, and way cheaper than buying a bag of chips.  Tasty way to use up pitas that are just going to go stale if you let them sit around any longer.

Now that you’ve made the chips, dips can be made!  Guacamole and bean dip are both super easy to make.

Guacamole-Ingredients

  • 2 ripe avocados, peeled and pitted
  • 2-3 cloves garlic (this is to your taste), finely minced
  • 1/4 of a small red onion, diced
  • salt to taste
  • splash of lemon or lime juice

Take all the ingredients and mash together in a bowl until you get a consistency you like-I like my guacamole on the smoother side, but you can leave it chunkier if that’s what you prefer.  Let it sit in the fridge for an hour to allow flavours to blend together.  Enjoy with your favourite chips!

The bean dip I made was done with a slow cooker, and it’s extremely easy.  5 minutes prep, hit on, and the next morning you wake up to a pile of dip!

Refried Bean Dip-Ingredients

  • 3 cups navy beans (I think generally you are supposed to use pinto beans, but all I could find was navy beans)
  • 9 cups water
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 1 small white onion, diced
  • salt
  • 1/8 tsp ground cumin

Throw everything in the slow cooker and cook on high for 6 hours.  Drain the liquid, and reserve.  Mash up the beans and slowly add some of the liquid back until you get the consistency you want.  This is the first time I’ve done this, and I erred on the side of caution and didn’t use much salt in the cooking process.  I figure I can always add more at the end, so make sure you taste it; I had to add some salt to it in the morning.  Next time, I’ll probably double the cumin.  This yields a huge amount of dip-I would suggest halving the recipe or freezing a portion of it (I’m assuming it can be frozen).  Or do what I did and give some away.  I also like eating it as a side dish-great way to get some legumes in your diet!

Hope you enjoy all these snacks!

EM

Posted on November 6, 2010, in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

