Back to School, Back to Blogging

Hello all!  I had way too much fun this summer with friends and family-lots of breakfasts (with Jan), dinners, hot pot gatherings, potlucks, BBQs.  In short, I was so busy eating, I never got the chance to blog about it!  So I am going to play catch up.  Starting now, while I should be paying (more) attention in class.

Being back at school means that I have to really plan my meals.  I usually like to cook a batch of something that will last me a week for several lunches or dinners.  One of my favorites is the pulled pork recipe for sandwiches.  Right before I left for school however, I visited my friend Gretchen, and she had made me Chicken Cheese Lasagna!  (she knew I was visiting and made sure to have good food around-all the more reason why I love her so much!)  This is a fairly simple recipe and I think I could make it.  I have yet to attempt it, but I thought I’d put the recipe up because it was so good (I had two giant portions of it…along with some sort of fruit tart dessert).

Chicken Cheese Lasagna

  • 2 tbsp butter or margarine
  • 1 medium onion chopped
  • 2 gloves of garlic, diced
  • 2 cups sliced mushrooms (or 2 cups spinach)
  • 2-3 cups cubed cooked chicken
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cups milk
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan (or other cheese)
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 8 ounces uncooked lasagna noodles (9-10 noodles)
  • 2 cups creamed cottage cheese OR 1 container ricotta cheese (425 g)
  • another 1/2 cup of grated Parmesan or mozzarella

Heat margarine in 2 qt saucepan over low heat until melted. Add garlic, onions, and mushrooms, then chicken.

Stir in flour and salt. Stir in ½ cup chicken broth until mixture thickens. Keep adding remaining broth slowly, and then milk. Heat to boiling, stirring constantly.

Stir in mozzarella, 1/2 cup parmesan, basil, oregano, and pepper. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly until cheese is melted so that it makes a thick sauce. Let it sit for a while, to continue thickening.

Make three layers: pasta, ricotta, and sauce, then top with the rest of the mozzarella / parmesan.

Cook uncovered in 350°F degree oven until noodles are done, 35-40 minutes (with noodles already cooked,  cook it for 20-30 minutes until nice and bubbly). Let stand 10-15 minutes before cutting (to firm up a bit). Makes 12 servings.

DELICIOUS.  Thanks Gretchen!!!

EM

Posted on September 9, 2010, in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

