Blogging Benefits

I highly enjoy writing for this blog.  The problem is, I don’t cook something new everyday, so I don’t get to post recipes all the time.  However, I am finding that this blog is bringing in some great benefits.  Most of my friends already knew I love food, but now that I am blogging on top of it, it seems to have started a new trend.  People are bringing me food!  Not that I’m complaining…some of my friends were already doing food swaps with me, but I must say, I’m really enjoying it.  All you folks reading this, feel free to bring me samples and I will blog about it! Treat number one on Monday: zucchini bread.  My friend’s husband, Jeremy, found out I love food and now blog and sent me three delicious slices of homemade zucchini bread.  Looked like it was from the store, but even better!  I was offered a lesson on how to make it, which I fully intend to take up.  Look for that in a couple weeks!  In the meantime, I was sent a pic of the loaf, before it got devoured:

Lovely isn’t it?  I cannot wait to learn to make it myself. So that was Monday.

Last night my dear friend Matt told me he made cookies: but they weren’t cool yet so he couldn’t bring me a sample.   A little part of me died inside: why would you even bother telling me that?  To mock me?  Taunt me?  Matt, are you reading this?  Just kidding, you know I adore you (and not only because you’re a vision in purple)!  He did bring me a sample today though, and it was DELICIOUS. Here is the recipe for Original Toll House Cookies.  They are a soft cookie-bar, and I adore them (I’m munching on one right now).

Ingredients

  • 4 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 cups butter
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups mini chocolate chips
  • 2 cups chopped nuts or raisins or cranberries

Beat the butter until fluffy and gradually add sugars, eggs, and vanilla.  In a separate bowl, mix baking soda and flour.  Add to butter mixture and blend well.  Stir in chips and nuts/dried fruit.  Grease a 12 x 18 inch pan, or alternatively, 2 10 x 14 inch pans (they’ll just be thinner bars).  Bake at 375 F for 20-25 minutes (Matt uses the single 12 x 18 pan and bakes for 25 minutes, but remember ovens can differ so just keep an eye on them).  Cut into bars when partially cool and finish cooling in pan.

Delicious!

BUT WAIT!!! The blogging benefits kept coming and my friend Jon brought me chili today!!!  I ate it up pretty quick, but I have yet to get the recipe from him, so I will have to save that for another day.  In the meantime, enjoy baking the cookie-bars!

EM

Posted on March 24, 2010, in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. haha, those cookies just make me think of friends!

  2. ok, in summer definitely I will try your recipes. This one looks delicious. Keep them coming .:D

Leave a Reply

