Chinese Party and Oreo Truffles?!

A couple nights ago one of my friends decided to throw a party: Chinese themed.  What did that mean?  We had Chinese food and played Chinese games.  And took pictures (which I will not be posting), posing incessantly.  It was a lot of fun; I especially enjoyed meeting new people because NO ONE at the party has any classes with me.  Nice to branch out when our class is so big.

I have yet to learn how to make Chinese desserts, so I decided to make Oreo truffles for the party.  Super easy and super fun, not to mention super tasty.

Ingredients

  • 1 pkg Oreo cookies: 350g size
  • 1 pkg cream cheese (8 oz), softened
  • optional: semi-sweet chocolate chips for coating (or you could use whatever chocolate you prefer: white, milk, etc)

Crush the cookies finely-if you have a food processor, make use of it.  I don’t, so I put the cookies in a big bowl and used a potato masher.  Took a bit of effort but it got the job done.  Add the cream cheese and mix well.  Take the mixture and roll into little balls, about one inch in size.  I managed to get 28 truffles out of this, even though the recipe said I should be able to get at least 3 dozen.  I think mine were bigger than one in size though.  Whatever.

Once you have rolled out all the truffles, place on a wax paper-lined baking sheet and put in the fridge for an hour to firm up.  You can serve as is, which is what I did, or you can coat them with semi-sweet chocolate chips for an outer coating.

To coat: melt the chocolate chips in a bowl-I just use the microwave.  Then dip the truffles in the chocolate with a fork and let the excess drip off and place on a wax paper-lined baking sheet.  Chill until the coating sets.  I have yet to perfect the coating process for truffles; it tends to be very messy and you have to work quickly so that the chocolate doesn’t harden.  Last time I did this, I had to keep microwaving the chocolate every so often.

I skipped this last step, so this was my finished product:

Enjoy!

EM

Posted on March 20, 2010, in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. o0o0o0. this looks good and super easy to make (easy enough for me to even try) ^_^

  2. They look delicious…I can’t read this blog while hungry!!

  3. MMM they look like timbits! haha

  4. They DO look like Timbits, Abby!

  5. so i tried to make them… i don’t know exactly how they’re supposed to turn out, but i tried twice and they both seemed to turn out the same.

    first time i used a blender to crush my oreos. that crushed them very finely. so that was the good part. but cause of the spinning blade and the icing in the middle, i guess, it warm and kind of like it melted together (the oreo cookie). i continued, and mixed the creamed cheese and let them sit in the fridge.

    the second time i tried to make them, i crushed the oreos by hand so as to not have it clump up, but once you add the creamed cheese, it becomes the same way as how i did it the first time. and i found that i did not crush them as finely as it was done by the blender.

    so overall, they taste good, though they feel heavy (probably cause of the creamed cheese). look wise, not so great. and i’ve had the same comment for about 4 other people on how they look. not so appetizing.

    anyways. thanks for the recipe, simple easy and pretty quick to make =)

    • Yeah, they do get mushy, but that’s why you have to stick them in the fridge. Did they look different from the pic that I put up? Well I’m glad you enjoyed the taste of them anyway.

      • well there was no white left after i mixed it all together. so it was a a ball of dark brown …kind of looked like poop =/

  6. Aww Fred, it’s chocolate!

Leave a Reply

