Congee Continued…

I had some feedback from a couple people regarding my congee post, so I thought I would add to it.  One of my friends aptly pointed out that I failed to give instructions on how to make congee if you do not possess a slow cooker.  SO, I thought I should post on how to make congee on the stove top.  A slow cooker is not necessary to make congee; I just love my slow cooker and use it because it makes my life easier.

Instead of using a slow cooker, grab a big soup pot.  Boil the rice and water (fill up the pot and leave some space so it won’t boil over) and once the water is boiling, throw in the ingredients.  Turn down the heat to a medium level and simmer for 2-3 hours.

Also, this recipe is easy to adapt for other sorts of congee.  If you like chicken, take some chicken pieces (doesn’t matter what cuts, congee is good for using up cheap cuts) and throw in some ginger root as well.  If you like beef, you can use that instead.  And if you like a bit of spice, add some pepper. (Thank you to my sister for mentioning chicken congee).  Fish congee is easy too: once the rice is done cooking, add pieces of fish fillet near the end (it doesn’t take long to cook fish) and flavour with some ginger and green onion.   If you had turkey, take the leftovers and use that (my favourite to have after Thanksgiving).

I hope that gives you some ideas to play with if you’re contemplating making congee.  It’s very easy to make: please let me know how it turns out if you do make some!

EM

Posted on March 19, 2010, in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Delightful blog. I look forward to the chicken and fish dishes….:) Am not a fan of the hoofed animals.

    Love the outline…..and pic! The presentation was splendid!

  2. Turkey congee is actually the highlight of Thanksgiving for me – just knowing that I’ll get to make a delicious congee out of the carcass is worth the hassle of roasting the bird myself.

  3. In my sisters wedding in Hong Kong we had a range of international food, Italian, French, and Chinese, for Chinese they had roast goose and congee, but the trimmings for the congee was white and black truffles it was buffet style so one could actually ask the serving chef to serve you as much as your heart desires and my heart really was contended.

  4. Also, if you have leftover rice, throw it in a pot with some water and boil and simmer for about 20-30 min. Win win situation: quick congee + gets rid of leftover rice!

Leave a Reply

