Pork Congee

For those of you unfamiliar with congee, it’s a rice porridge that is a popular Chinese dish.  Because I grew up with it and ate it on a fairly regular basis, I forget that sometimes the texture can be displeasing to others.  If you can get past it though, a wonderful world of different types of congee will be open to you.  Because the base of it is just rice and water, you can make congee with almost any type of meat you like.  I personally like pork, turkey, and fish most.  I also like the Hong Kong style mixed-seafood congee.  Best of all is when you have a fried Chinese Doughnut and dip it in the congee.  Chinese Doughnuts are long fried pieces of dough.  I have yet to discover how those are made.

Here is a recipe for pork congee that I use.  I use a slow cooker to cook it, and mine is a 5 quart size-made enough to last me for several days.

Ingredients

  • 2 pork chops
  • soy sauce
  • sesame oil
  • green onion for garnish
  • 2 cups rice
  • water
  • handful of dried oysters and dried scallops (available from china town, though you could probably skip it)

Slice up the pork chops into bite size pieces and marinade briefly in soy sauce and sesame oil (just enough to coat all pieces and really, I only marinate for five minutes).  Then take all ingredients except for the onion and throw it all into the slow cooker.  I filled my pot up almost to the top with water: make sure you leave some room so when it starts to boil it doesn’t boil over.  Set your slow cooker to high for 4 hours.  Easy and delicious.

Posted on March 18, 2010, in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Mmmm, yum, congee. My favorite is the bbq pork (sui yok)!

  2. That’s my FAVORITE comfort food!

  3. What about chicken congee? That’s really good – just add some slices of ginger and a dash of white pepper. Mmm. Good way to use some cheap chicken parts.

Leave a Reply

